David Hopes

210 Karpen Hall, CPO 2130

Office Hours

  • Mon: 

    • 7 - 8 a.m.
  • Tue: 

    • 7 - 8 a.m.
  • Wed: 

    • 7 - 8 a.m.
  • Thu: 

    • 7 - 8 a.m.
  • Fri: 

    • 7 - 8 a.m.

David’s Hopes’ play Anna Livia, Lucky in Her Bridges, opened the 08-09 season for Chicago’s Bailiwick Theater. The previous season it had won a Desert Star award for the best new script when it premiered at the Thorny Theater in Palm Springs. The first of his Lincoln trilogy, The Loves of Mr Lincoln, is under development by SunnySpot productions, aiming for New York premiere in 2010. Saint Patrick’s Well was given a triumphant reading by New York’s Penguin Rep in July, 2009, and Critics, commissioned by the North Carolina Watercolor Society, premiered at their annual conference. Other appearances of Hopes plays include several productions of the one act, “Kind Eyes.” The Beautiful Johanna premiered on January 18, 2010 at NC Stage, as part of their Catalyst Series. The Black Mountain Museum will be using his play about the Black Mountain College experience, This Paradise Apart, as a fundraiser.

Working onstage as an actor, Hopes appeared in Touchstone in As You Like It, Mephistofilis in Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus, Marcus Andronicus in Titus Andronicus for Montford Park Players. He appeared as the dotty dead mathematician in HART’s Proof, and as Hamlet’s ghost in the same theater’s Hamlet.

He won prizes from the Utmost Christian Society, Winning Writers and the South Carolina Review for poetry.

In addition to the regular round of academic offerings, Hopes has been developing courses in Tolkien and the other Inklings, in the Irish Renaissance, and new performance opportunities for his creative writing and playwriting students.


  • B.A., Hiram College
  • M.A., Johns Hopkins University
  • M.A., Syracuse University
  • Ph.D., Syracuse University

Recent Teaching

  • LIT 354: Masterpieces of Drama
  • LIT 485: Seminar in Shakespeare
  • Playwriting Workshop


  • Distinguished Scholarship and Creative Activity Award, 2006
  • Ruth and Leon Feldman Professorship, 1989